SHUFFLER 0018: NO ONE DESERVES IT

SHUFFLER 0018: NO ONE DESERVES IT
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Elliott Smith – “Pitseleh” from XO (1998 DreamWorks)

Elliott+Smith

I’m not sure if I discovered Elliott Smith’s music as a direct result of the inclusion of his songs in Goodwill Hunting or not. What I do know is this: in 1998 I was living by myself in a studio apartment. I had just gotten out of a long-term relationship, and whether it was true or not, in my mopey state I felt as though many of my friends ended up favoring my ex over me.

This was, basically, the perfect time to stumble across Elliott Smith’s music and all its melancholy.

It’s a melancholy that ended tragically for him, and much has been written about that. I think, though, given just how perfect this song is for such a situation, the best thing here is to put off biographical information about Smith or personal stories about the song, and get right to it.

I would only add that Smith’s proclivity for the 3/4 time signature is a thing I enjoy.

Album version:

Live at Amoeba Records, Los Angeles, 1999:

Leave a Reply

